Crockpot Mexican Drumsticks

As much as I love to cook, there are some days when I wake up and the thought of making dinner after a long day sounds not-so-fun.  Yesterday was one of those days.  I quickly dismissed the idea of cooking and decided we’d go out to eat….nope.  I quickly dismissed the idea of cooking and decided to order delivery….nope.  I quickly dismissed the idea of cooking and knew the one thing that could remedy my feelings….my crockpot!  I can’t say it enough, I think crockpots are amazing.  You throw a bunch of stuff in there, turn it on, and arrive home to not only a delicious meal, but a place that smells awesome.

Crockpot Mexican Drumsticks

  • 1 pack of drumsticks (I got a pack of organic, free-range at Trader Joe’s and was shocked at how cheap they were!).  Breasts would work, too.
  • 1/2 yellow onion, chopped
  • 1 can organic diced tomatoes (I used Trader Joe’s fire roasted for an extra kick)
  • 1/2 jar TJ’s Salsa Verde
  • paprika
  • chili powder
  • sea salt
  • garlic powder
  1. Place onions along the bottom of your crockpot to make a ‘bed’ for the chicken.  Save some to put on top, too.
  2. Lay drumsticks in the crockpot.
  3. Sprinkle each piece with the salt, paprika, chili powder, and garlic powder.
  4. Place remainder of diced onion on top of chicken.
  5. Drain can of tomatoes and then pour on top of chicken.
  6. Pour 1/2, or a little more, of salsa verde on top.
  7. Put the lid on, set to Low 10 hrs and you’re good to go!

When we finally sat down to eat, the chicken was amazingly tender and moist.  I had to use a spoon to scoop each leg out of the crockpot because the meat was falling right off the bone!  This wasn’t super spicy, just had a nice kick.  If you want more spice, add some cayenne pepper when you’re sprinkling seasonings or throw some Tabasco in during the prep process.  I served the drumsticks with a simple Mexican-inspired side salad of shredded green cabbage, diced tomatoes, salsa, and homemade guacamole.  Ole!

The Workout 7:30pm WOD at Patriot Crossfit

Push-Press
5-5-5   My sets were 75-85-95.  My 3RM PR is 100 lbs., so I was happy with 95 lbs.  I didn’t work to failure because my shoulders were super sore from Tuesday  night.

AMRAP 10 Minutes
10 Ground to Overhead (55lbs)
20 Box Jumps (20″)

I did this workout as prescribed, wahoo!  I got 5 rounds even.  The first round I did power snatches for ground to overhead but was too tired when I got on my car the next time.  I switched to clean and jerks, which allowed me to keep going even if it was a little slower.

One response to “Crockpot Mexican Drumsticks

  1. gonna have to try this. delish!

Leave a Reply

