Rowing for Pork

Ok, I didn’t really row for pork.  Buuuut, I might have been thinking a little about pork while rowing.  I was crafting tonight’s dinner.

The Workout

1. Overhead Squat 3-3-3-3-3  I did 55-65-75-85-95 (fail).  I’m happy because 85# is a new PR by 10#.

2. Row 2K meters for time.  Uggggh! One of the most dreaded crossfit workouts around.  The 2K row is all about pacing, consistency, and sprinting at the end.  The first, and only other, time I did this I finished in 9:18.  Pretty abysmal.  I was determined to beat it tonight.  I went out with a pace in mind and stuck to it pretty well.  I finished in 8:56..woohoooo!

The Meal

Once I got home, I was pretty hungry and ready to try a new, quick meal.  I attempted to recreate a paleo version of pulled pork bbq sandwiches thanks to being inspired by this pulled pork I found at Costco yesterday.  Nothing but meat and spices in there…and 2 lbs of meat for $10!

Paleo Pulled Pork ‘Sandwiches’

  • romaine hearts leaves
  • pulled pork meat.  You can make your own in a slow cooker or  if it’s a busy night, take the easy way out mentioned about like I did.
  • homemade paleo bbq sauce- put all ingredients below in a saucepan and simmer for about 30 minutes.  Adapted from a recipe I found at Son of Grok – 1 6oz can tomato paste (preferable organic)
    – 1 to 1.5 cups of beef stock (I made my own but if you buy, you want it without salt)
    – 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic
    – 1/2 an onion
    – 2 tablespoons dijon mustard
    – 2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
    – 1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil (EVOO)
    – 1 teaspoon sea salt
    – 2 tablespoons chili powder

Put some pork in each romaine leaf and top with as much as bbq sauce as desired!

On the side there was canned spinach (I was channeling Popeye tonight, what can I say) and rutabaga fries.  This was my first time making them and they were delicious!  I peeled a rutabaga and then chopped it into fry-size pieces.  Tossed them with olive oil, season-all, sea salt, and pepper.  Baked at 425 for about 30 minutes, turning once.

The meal turned out deliciously!  Sadly, my eyes were bigger than my stomach and I was only able to eat one ‘sandwich’.  There’s tons of meat leftover after two of us digging into it!

Chowing down!  Tonight was a couch dinner to catch up on some DVR action.

One response to “Rowing for Pork

  1. dynamite eating pic! those look super tasty. gonna have to try that one.

Leave a Reply

