Lousy Looking Lunch

Hello and happy Tuesday!  It’s been a busy morning in my classroom.  We’re getting ready to turn in alternative assessment portfolios, so we’ve been busy completing activities for them.  I can’t believe we’re coming up on April later this week!

Lunch is a trio of leftovers: grilled Trader Joe’s turkey kielbasa, roasted broccoli, and salad with tomatoes, cucumber, onion, avocado, and balsamic.

Let’s get to the unavoidable fact: my lunch today was not pretty.  Before you get all critical, let me break it down for you.  My kids are gone to lunch in the cafeteria from 12:30 until 1:10.  That means they mad dash to the cafeteria with my assistants and I spend about 5 minutes cleaning up after them, then sprinting to the bathroom because I usually haven’t gone yet that day and am at emergency status.  That puts us at about 12:40.  By the time all is said and done, I usually have around 25 minutes for this whole lunch shindig…which is inevitably spent in front of my computer getting stuff ready for the afternoon.  Who said teachers live a luxurious life??

This all translates to me usually preparing enough dinner that I can throw some in tupperware for a leftovers lunch the next day.  I’ll have to get better at this photographing food thing…didn’t mean to get all the tupperware tops in the background.  😦  And, please contain your jealousy for my set of plastic plates.  I know not everyone’s china can rival mine.  If you must have some, you can get your own set at the dollar store.

So, that’s the quick and dirty of my lunchtime routine.  It’s not glamorous, but I’m happy enough knowing that it’s healthy and tasty.   Time to get through the afternoon including working the after school program until 4:30.  I have a hankering for baking this evening…might need to do some googling for inspiration.  I’ll keep you posted.

One response to “Lousy Looking Lunch

  1. you’ve totally inspired me to look up a recipe for coconut larabars. 🙂

Leave a Reply

