Paleo Pancake Experiment #1

So, after writing my recent post about my usual breakfast, I realized something.  I lied.   There are sometimes mornings that I wake up and want something sweet and carby.  It usually happens on weekend mornings.  This Saturday I woke up and decided to try my hand at some paleo pancakes.  I did some recipe searching on the internet and combined forces from Almond Banana Pancakes on Mark’s Daily Apple and Primal Pancakes from Primal Living.

In my mix:

  • 1/2 cup almond meal
  • 1/8 cup coconut milk
  • 1/8 cup water
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2  super ripe banana
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • few shakes of cinnamon

I mixed it all together and cooked them in a pan with some coconut oil.  You have to wait patiently for them to brown sufficiently and get bubbly before attempting to flip.  They are pretty delicate and will fall apart easily.

Paleo Pancakes version 1.0

Smeared with a little coconut butter, and extra sprinkle of cinnamon, and the rest of breakfast.

The verdict: pretty delicious, but not perfect.  The texture was a bit off in my opinion.  The insides of the pancakes were a little too dense/wet for my liking.  They seemed rather doughy.  I’ll have to make some adjustments and try again one weekend soon.  Stu, on the other hand, thought they were just fine and polished them off.  It’s nice to have a non-critical food taster!  🙂

One response to “Paleo Pancake Experiment #1

  1. They look pretty tastey. That bacon looked de-lish! Was it turkey bacon?

Leave a Reply

