tabata-wha??

When I first heard the phrase ‘tabata’, I had no idea what in the world it meant.  I’ve now learned it’s a brutal, yet efficient, way of working out.  The tabata method alternates 20 seconds of super intense work (pushing yourself as hard/fast as you can) with 10 seconds of rest for 8 rounds.  That’s 4 minutes total of work.  Sounds like nothing, huh?  Trust me….it’s hard.  For more information, read this.

Tonight’s wod was ‘Tabata Something Else’ which calls for doing tabata for each of these exercises- pull-ups, push-ups, sit-ups, and air squats.  Here’s how I stacked up:

  • Pull-ups: I did 46 with just the yellow band.  This is a big improvement for me as I’m getting closer to no band at all.
  • Push-ups: 65 reps.  I completed the first 4 rounds with ‘real’ push-ups but then went to my knees because I was rapidly reaching muscle failure (read: doing a lot of laying on/staring at the ground. not pretty.)
  • Sit-ups: 92 reps.  Not too bad.
  • Air squats: 122 reps.  I’m nervous I won’t be able to walk tomorrow as my quads are already tightening up!

The good thing about tabata is you know it’s not going to last long, but it’s amazing how long 20 seconds of super intense work seems a looooot longer.

One response to “tabata-wha??

  1. sounds terrifying, but might have to give that tabata a whirl

Leave a Reply

