Juice of Life

It’s mornings like this that I absolutely don’t know what I’d do without coffee.  It saves me!  I still haven’t kicked the effect of the time change and 5:30am seemed painfully early when my alarm went off.  Thankfully, coffee had started automatically and I could smell it in the kitchen.  It honestly is one of the main reasons I get out of bed sometimes.  🙂

When I started eating Paleo, I wasn’t sure what to do about my coffee habit.  Dairy is not part of the Paleo plan and I’ve quickly realized that it causes my tummy some real trouble.  Delicious, flavored, chemical-filled creamers are not part of the plan either (I’d be lying if I said that I never, ever add a splash of a special flavor once in a while!).   I knew there was no way I could give coffee up, but I’m also not the type to drink my coffee black- yuck!  I experimented with a few things and now have perfected my Paleo coffee add-ins.  The daily routine consists of three things:

Unsweetened Vanilla almond milk from Blue Diamond

a small pour of full fat coconut milk makes my coffee exceptionally creamy

and a sprinkle of cinnamon!  Not sure if my obsession with all things cinnamon will decline as the weather warms since it usually crops up when fall/winter arrive, but for now it’s here to stay.

Off to finish my delicious coffee before my kids arrive!


One response to “Juice of Life

  1. I’m going to need to try the full fat coconut milk. Sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

